Tuesday, March 2, 2021 Contact us

Asia Pacific Poker Tour (APPT)

History of the Asia Pacific Poker Tour

The Asia Pacific Poker Tour (APPT) was created in 2007 by Pokerstars, who also is the main sponsor of the events. Pokerstars put together a great team of experienced poker event specialists, with the goal of creating the biggest tournament series in Asia and the Pacific. After the first season, the APPT had established itself as the first and biggest tournament series travelling around the Pacific Ocean, with great attendance at each destination. The series are taped for television as well by the 441 Production Company, which televises the events all over the Asia pacific area.

The first season of APPT included four stops all over the region, but APPT slowly increased to being six destinations over the years, including a Asia Championship of Poker (ACOP) in Macau and a APPT Snowfest in Queenstown. The APOC was added to create a main event for the series, known from all other tournament series that Pokerstars are involved in such as the EPT, LAPT and NAPT. Unlike these other events, the APPT doesn't visit too many new casino and cities, having visited only eight different cities in the seven seasons the program has been running.

The APOC is being hosted in the amazing City of Dreams venue, one of the most exclusive venue's in the world, with four hotels, casinos, clubs and everything else a player could dream of. Since Macau has established itself as the new competitor for Las Vegas, the city itself attracts a lot of players from all over the world but with the APOC being played; even more find their way to the city of dreams.

With Pokerstars as the main sponsor and founder of the tournament series, players can qualify to the events online via satellite tournaments. Pokerstars specializes in providing satellites for their own events and makes it possible for lucky players to qualify for as little as $1 including hotel and airfare. Sending hundreds of players this way, Pokerstars ensures that all the events has a good turnout and provides a good prize pool for the players.

Asia Championship of Poker (ACOP)

The Asia Championship of Poker was created in 2012 as the final stop of the APPT tour. The ACOP is a entire festival of tournaments, have several smaller events, a main event and a high roller tournament. The event last around 14 days in total and offers the opportunity for players to play 12 different title events.

The tournament schedule is designed to fit all players having  tournaments with small buy-ins in different formats for the hobby players, to the main event and high roller tournament with HKD $100,000 and HKD $250,000 buy-in for the professional and rich players. The ACOP also offers a "Ladies Asia Championship" which is a women only tournament, to crown the queen of poker in the Asian region.

The winner of the main event will, besides the first prize, be awarded a buy in to next year's ACOP, making it free for them to participate in the event once again.

Asia Player of the Year

After each season of the APPT, a winner of the "Asia Player of the Year" (APOY) is found via a leaderboard based on points obtained in events played. The winner of the award wins a 1-year sponsorship contract with Pokerstars as well as will have their name engraved in the APOY trophy, permanently located in the Pokerstars Live poker room in Macau.

The points can be earned by finishing in the money in a tournament under the APPT, Macau Poker Cub, ACOP Platinum Series and Seoul Poker Cup. The higher the position, the bigger the buy-in and the bigger the attendance, the more points are being earned.

Below you can see the past winners of the Asia Player of the Year award:





Kitty Kuo

Chinese Taipei


Bryan Huang



Hung-Sheng Lin

Chinese Taipei


Yosuke Sekiya



Biggest Overall Winners

Running for more than seven seasons now, the APPT has had a lot of tournaments and a lot of winners winning the big prize pools. Some players have cashed more than others in the tournaments and below you can find a top 5 of the biggest cashing players in the APPT history.



Total Winnings

Grant Levy



Martin Rowe



Aaron Benton



Dermot Blain



Jeremiah Vinsant



As the table shows, the Australians has been dominating the APPT and been winning far more than any other nation.