Wednesday, March 3, 2021 Contact us

World Series of Poker Circuit

History and information about WSOP Circuit

The World Series of Poker Circuit was started in 2005, when Harrah's Entertainment decided to expand the WSOP brand outside Las Vegas and create a warm up tournament series for the WSOP all across America.

The WSOP Circuit takes places in different casinos in different states and started out as a tournament for the professionals, but later turned into a tournament series for the more casual player, with smaller buy-ins. Each circuit event consists of 8-11 smaller events and a main event and has a leaderboard with prizes for the best performing players. The winner of the main event at each destination, the winner of the leaderboard at each destination and the overall for all events leaderboard winner is awarded a seat into the WSOP National Championship, which is seen as the main event of the entire series. In total 100 seats will be given away to the winners of the main event and leaderboard at each destination.

The WSOP National Championship was created in 2011 to have a final for the players competing in the various circuit events, but has from the start been a qualify / invite only tournament.

The WSOP National Championship costs $10,000 in buy-in, but the buy-in gets paid for all players that qualify through the WSOP Circuit events. Should there be players qualifying multiple times, the seat will be awarded to the next person in line that has not qualified for the tournament. Besides the qualifiers, the top 100 of the overall WSOP World Ranking from the two years prior, can buy-in to the tournament and participate as well. This creates a total prize pool of over $1,000,000 and a huge first prize as known from the original WSOP series.

Unlike the WSOP, players who win a WSOP Circuit tournament is not awarded a bracelet, but a WSOP ring to differentiate the series from the real WSOP, however the winner of the WSOP National Championship does receive a WSOP bracelet for his efforts.

WSOP Circuit Events

The WSOP Circuit is a tournament series designed for hobby players, with small buy-ins and big prize pools. Because of this, they primarily focus on providing tournaments that the mainstream poker player can play, such as Texas Hold'em and Omaha. WSOP Circuit does provide other variants of poker, but is limited to one to two events per destination to not take focus away from the other tournaments.

To diversify the events, the tournaments come in different formats such as 6-max tables, freeze-out, re-entry and re-buy. This ensures that there's a tournament format for everyone to participate in and makes the attendance for each event bigger.

All WSOP Circuit destinations finishes off with a Main Event, that has a guaranteed prize pool of up to $500,000 and the winner also gets a seat in the WSOP National Championship. The rest of the events varies from destination to destination and can be found on the destinations website.

Winners of the WSOP National Championship

The WSOP National Championship was added as a final tournament to the WSOP Circuit events in 2011, giving players a chance to win a bracelet without playing a real WSOP event. Below you can see the winners of the first events and the prizes they won:





Sam Barnhart



Ryan Eriquezzo



Jonathan Hilton


As the tournament is considered a freeroll, due to players not paying a buy-in but qualify for the tournament, the prizes are very big and a great extra boost to the bankroll.