Tony Dunst wins $1,000 No-Limit Hold’em for $339,254

The end of the 2016 World Series of Poker is coming to an end, with only seven more events to play, with of course the $10,000 Main Event being the most prestigious one, alongside the $111,111 High Roller for One Drop. Before we come to that, there are some smaller tournaments, such as event #63: $1,000 No-Limit Hold’em. 2,452 players entered the tournament, and in the end it was no one less than Tony Dunst who took home the bracelet.



The final nine players started with these stacks on the final day:




Seat 1

Raffaele Castro

400.000 (17 bb)

Seat 2

Jason Rivkin

2.550.000 (106 bb)

Seat 3

David Sciacqua

700.000 (28 bb)

Seat 4

Joshua Field

1.800.000 (75 bb)

Seat 5

Matas Cimbolas

1.800.000 (75 bb)

Seat 6

Sergio Cabrera

650.000 (27 bb)

Seat 7

Francisco Araujo

1.500.000 (62 bb)

Seat 8

Tony Dunst

1.900.000 (78 bb)

Seat 9

Levon Torosyan

720.000 (30 bb)


It took 28 hands before we lost a player. Sciacque’s pocket 10’s were no good against the Q’s of Joshua Field, he finished in ninth for $28,097.

After this elimination, Tony Dunst took the chiplead by busting Raffaele Castro, Dunst’s held against the on a board of . Shortly after, Torosyan found his Waterloo when he shoved his into Cimbolas’ and didn’t improve.


Almost two hours of play later, Cabrera couldn’t win the flip with against Dunst’s and was sent to the rail in sixth place, earning himself $62,880. From that point on Dunst was dominating the table, since he busted Cimbolas as well, who took home $83,804, while Field scored Araujo’s knockout who finished fourth.


Field didn’t make it to heads-up play though, his didn’t improve against Rivkin’s . Field finished in third place for $153,015 while Dunst started heads-up play against Rivkin with a slight chip advantage.


The two played heads-up for hours before the tournament came to a conclusion. In hand #254, Dunst shoved his button with and Rivkin made the call with . The board ran out and Dunst’s two pair were enough to take down the pot, and win his first bracelet.


The results:






Tony Dunst




Jason Rivkin




Joshua Field




Francisco Araujo




Matas Cimbolas




Sergio Cabrera




Levon Torosyan




Raffaele Castro




David Sciacua



Recent Posts

Ethereum-based Virtue Poker is ready to launch this May with an exhibition tournament featuring its ambassador Phil Ivey

Following an announcement on Monday, it was confirmed that ConsenSys based project, Virtue Poker raised $5 million in funding. The…

4 days ago

A fully decentralized Poker application is announced to launch in Q2

Cartesi and Polygon have recently announced the development of a fully decentralized Poker game on top of Polygon’s PoS Chain.…

3 weeks ago

GGPoker heads up with PokerStars by running their GG Spring Festival from April 4 through April 25

Competition this spring will be fierce as GGPoker is taking PokerStars heads on by running their own GG Spring Festival…

3 weeks ago

PokerStars SCOOP 2021 kicks off April 4

The PokerStars Spring Championship of Online Poker (SCOOP) is up pretty soon with $100 million in guaranteed prizes for grabs across 102…

3 weeks ago

America’s Cardroom announces High Five Tournament Series and is looking for the “next Moneymaker”

America's Cardroom has announced its High Five Tournament series. The High Five series will run from March 31 to April…

4 weeks ago

World’s most popular online poker tournament celebrating 15 years

The world's most popular online tournament, the PokerStars Sunday Million is celebrating its 15th anniversary this coming Sunday March 21st and…

1 month ago